Saint Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences (SFUCHAS) was established by the Tanzania Episcopal Conference (TEC) based on the need of the Catholic Church to contribute to the training of more doctors and other Health Professionals in Tanzania in the face of inadequacy of qualified personnel in Health sector, critically in the marginalized settings of Tanzania.

SFUCHAS is the second Medical School owned by the Catholic Bishops of Tanzania after the Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences (CUHAS), in Mwanza. Uniquely, SFUCHAS is the first medical University College to be established in a rural setting in Tanzania.

SFUCHAS was issued with a Certificate of Provisional Registration by the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) on 2nd November 2010 and It was officially inaugurated by Hon. Hadji Hussein Mponda (MP), the then Minister for Health and Social Welfare on 12th June, 2011 represented by His Hon. Philipo Augustino Mulugo (MP) the then Deputy Minister for Education and Vocational Training. In September 2013, the TCU issued the Certificate of Full Registration (CFR) to the College.


  • To be an outstanding Catholic University by setting standard of excellence in health training, research and health care for the Rural Community.
  • The vision relates to the training of doctors with quality in health, research and health care to the rural community. It is related to that of the degree granting institution (SAUT).


  • To transfer knowledge from one generation to another through teaching, advance and frontier of knowledge through research in Rural Tanzania.
  • To create a competent human resource force with moral, spiritual and ethical values in Rural Tanzania.
  • Delivery of quality services to the Rural Community in Tanzania
  • The mission is relevant to training of doctors and is related to the mission statement of SAUT.


St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences is located in Ifakara town; an administrative home of the Kilombero district, in Morogoro region lying 420 km South-West of Dar-s-Salaam and 230 km from Morogoro Town.


  • Doctor of Medicine degree
  • Diploma of Medical Laboratory Sciences,
  • Diploma of Pharmaceutical Sciences,
  • Technician Certificate in Medical Laboratory Sciences,
  • Technician Certificate in Pharmaceutical Sciences.


  • Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing
  • Bachelor of Science in Biological Anthropology,
  • Master of Human Resource for Health
  • Master of Public Health
  • Master of Medicine (Obstetrics and Gynecology).


  • Dental School/Clinic:

Construction of structures to be started in September 2016


  • Bachelor Degree Doctor of Medicine;

Direct Applicants: Minimum of three Principal passes in Chemistry, Biology/Zoology or Physics or Geography, at (“A) level. Minimum of 5.0 points or Higher

Equivalent Applicants: Holders of Diploma or Advance Diploma in Clinical Medicine with second class GPA or (B) average pass.

  • Diploma in Medical Laboratory Sciences/Diploma in Pharmaceutical Sciences:

A holder of form IV certificate or equivalent with three credits in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Laboratory /Pharmaceutical Assistant from a recognized institution with at least two years of experience in Clinical Laboratory/Pharmacy Practice provided the applicant has two passes in science subjects in O-Level.

NB: Other criteria will be as per NACTE Admission regulations

  • Certificate in Medical Laboratory Sciences/Pharmaceutical Sciences

A candidate must have a certificate of secondary education (O-Level) or equivalent with at least two passes at “D” Level in Biology, Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics

From IV leavers who have attended one year course in the medical science but subject to passing an Entrance Examination

NB: Other criteria will be as per NACTE Admission regulations


All candidates applying for Doctor of Medicine Degree should apply through TCU ( and

All candidates applying for Diploma and Certificate Programs should apply through NACTE (


  • Ifakara Health Institute (IHI) – TANZANIA
  • Tanzania Training Centre for International Health (TTCIH) –TANZANIA
  • Francis Referral Hospital – TANZANIA
  • Morogoro Regional Referral Hospital – TANZANIA
  • Edgar Maranta School of Nursing – TANZANIA
  • All Universities/colleges under Tanzania Episcopal conference


  • University of Colorado Denver- USA
  • University of Innsbruck-AUSTRIA
  • University of Bologna – ITALY
  • Kenya Methodist University – KENYA
  • Provisional Charitable foundation – CANADA
  • Doctors Friends of Ifakara – AUSTRIA


The Principal,

St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences

P.O. Box 175

Ifakara, Tanzania

Phone:   (255) 23-2931-568

Fax:     (255) 23-2931-569